Baked Basmati Rice and Caramelized Onions

I went on a cleaning spree of my cabinet where I keep all of my foam cups, paper plates and a bunch of other junk.  I came across a Tupperware container of tumeric that I had forgot I had.  It’s like a lifetime supply of tumeric.  If you know tumeric, you know you don’t use much of it.

Anyhow, I remembered a dish I used to make and haven’t made in a while.  It’s Basmati rice that is pre-cooked and baked in the oven in a skillet with onions and either saffron or tumeric for us cheapies.  It has a wonderfully crunchy texture when it’s done and the onions become nicely caramelized.  Good stuff.

What you need:

  • 1 cup Basmati rice, cooked according to packing directions
  • 3 Tbsp. butter
  • 1 large onion, thickly sliced
  • 1/8 tsp. tumeric or saffron
  • salt

Rinse raw rice well and cook rice according to package directions and set aside.

Heat oven to 425°. Melt butter in an 8″ oven-proof skillet.  Remove and reserve 1 Tbsp. of melted butter.  Add onions and tumeric and stir and cook until onions are crisp-tender.  Spread onions evenly on the bottom of the pan and season with salt.

Spoon cooked rice over onions, smoothing rice and pressing down lightly in the pan (I dampen my hands first and press down using my palms). Pour the remaining reserved melted butter over rice.

Cook, covered for about 45 to 55 minutes or until sides are browned and bottom is golden brown.

Carefully invert on a serving dish and enjoy.  It should all come out at once. If you don’t think it will, loosen it up with a spatula first. If that fails, just put it back together best you can. It’ll still taste good.

2 responses

  1. Rozzi

    Coriander goes great with tumeric. This would be the perfect companion to a coriander crusted salmon I make.

    August 3, 2010 at 9:07 pm

  2. Pingback: Salmon w/ Coriander Crust « a foodgasm

Leave a Reply

