Cupcake recipe idea…

I have a vision. Or a thought. Maybe it is a vision because I can “see” this in my mind.

So, the thing is, I think I am becoming obsessed with baking. Yes, gulp. I said it. I can’t stop thinking about cupcakes.

I have this cupcake in my head I want to invent. I say invent because I looked and can’t seem to find anyone who has made it.

I love, love, love strawberry-rhubarb crisp, all warm with vanilla ice cream oozing over the top. So good.

I thought to myself what an awesome cupcake that would be. Right?

So far I am thinking a vanilla cupcake, possibly with a granola type crunch mixed in the batter. Then for the filling, I have a strawberry-rhubarb jam, sugar-free, that is just fabulous. For the icing, I found a recipe that is a vanilla bean icing that is claimed to taste like melted vanilla ice cream. I’d top it off with the “crisp” that would go on top of the dessert and finally a strawberry slice to top it off.

I think it sounds possible. Yes? No?

6 responses

  1. Rozzi

    Ok- now I am worried about you!!
    I watched the cupcake challenge last night- cupcakes are definitely in…Did you make that crisp using the jam?

    August 11, 2010 at 10:19 pm

  2. I haven’t made anything yet. This is all just rolling around in my head. Yeah, cupcakes are huge right now. I even tossed around the idea of opening a shop here if I got really good. Just and idea though. Probably would never happen. I don’t even own a stand mixer. And my cupcake pans are aluminum throw away ones.

    August 11, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    • Rozzi

      Well you didnt think this blog would come to fruition- so who knows- Maryann’s Classy Cupcakes may be in your future. You could always do a kiosk in the mall- less rent and over head…

      August 11, 2010 at 11:02 pm

      • My first thought was to just take them around to local businesses around here. We have an industrial park not far away. Maybe fill up a cute little basket and don my Little Red Riding Hood costume and off I go.

        August 12, 2010 at 7:56 am

  3. Frank

    mare it sounds really good, i like the idea, was thinking the pink zebra cups would look nice. what do you think?

    August 12, 2010 at 7:17 am

    • Yep, Frank. I was thinking that too. At 1:00 AM. =)

      August 12, 2010 at 7:54 am

Leave a Reply

