Baked Maryland-Style Crabcakes

I was so in the mood for crabcakes today.  I came across this recipe and after making it, have made some minor adjustments.  They were good, considering they weren’t fried.  Of course, I’m sure you could fry them if you wish.  The Old Bay gave a nice Maryland-style flavor to them and it was mostly crab, not all filler.

  • 1/4 cup dried bread crumbs
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp.  dried parsley
  • 1 tsp. dried mustard
  • 1/8 tsp. black pepper
  • 2 tsp. Old Bay Seasoning
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 Tbsp. mayonnaise
  • 2 Tbsp. butter, melted
  • 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup of cholesterol free egg product (like Egg Beaters)
  • 1 lb. lump crab meat

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  Grease a baking sheet.

Combine bread crumbs, baking powder, parsley, mustard powder, pepper, salt and seafood seasoning; set aside.

Stir together mayonnaise, butter, Worcestershire, and egg product until smooth.

Note: I used 3/4 of a cup and found it was a little watery. So I added more breadcrumbs.  Next time I’d lower the liquid to 1/2 cup and add more if needed.

Fold in crab meat, then fold in bread crumb mixture until well blended.

Shape mixture into 8 crab cakes, about 3/4 inch thick, and place onto prepared baking sheet.

Bake in preheated oven for 12 minutes, then turn the crab cakes over, and bake an additional 10 minutes, until nicely browned.

3 responses

  1. I was thinking about trying Panko too. Didn’t have any though.

    September 2, 2010 at 8:21 am

  2. OMGosh. Your pictures are sooo yummy.It’s 9 pm and I have a craving for crab cakes. I guess I’ll have to wait until tomorrow, but your recipe and photos have won me over!!

    September 2, 2010 at 9:14 pm

  3. Yum!This looks so delicious.I saw your blog from the foodie blog roll and I like what you have here.if you won’t mind I’d love to guide Foodista readers to this post.Just add the crabcake widget to the end of this post and it’s all set, Thanks!

    September 3, 2010 at 10:29 pm

Leave a Reply

